New Gum Bichromate and different techniques


Shanghai Cafe /Centralia Washington 2021

I’ve been busy in the darkroom, working on some new images. First let me give you a little perspective. I’m not one to spend hours testing and discovering how and why the science works. I would rather work on images and develop techniques that work for me. I like the art of discovery and the unknown. I have different images that speak to that here.

This image started as a B&w image and 1 negative was used to make this. First a strong Cyanotype image was made. Then the reddish brown was made. I had an idea on the color I wanted so I just started mixing water colors until I got what I wanted. About 4 different colors. This is HPR paper which doesn’t need sizing but it doesn’t like to be rubbed on to much as it just falls apart. I applied the reddish brown over the Cyanotype and dried it with the hair dryer. Exposed it under the UV and into the water bath. Instead of letting it soak I carefully brushed it under water with soft brush. Very softly until the image colors blended to the look I wanted. Then I used the same technique with titanium white on the highlights and finally blended it together. A couple things here. This technique will make one of a kind images. Also if you brush to much or to hard the image will reveal to much of the cyan and the image will be destroyed. So patience is definitely needed!!

This was basically a test image. I wanted to see if Speedball India ink could be used instead of watercolor pigment. The black ink in different amounts made a goldish silver color while useing the brush during the rinse made for a pretty interesting image. I’m going to try this technique for a sizing method for carbon printing.

This is made with I negative that the background was removed and whited out. Then I made a Cyanotype of just the flowers. Then I used different colors of dark red and pink on different parts of the flowers and green on the stems. Then I put on a coat of India ink on the background and around the flowers. Another layer over the whole image and brushed off the flowers until I achieved the look I wanted.

This image is 1 negative 1 layer of Cyanotype and 1 layer of dark brown and dark yellow pigment.

Leave a comment